Search

Permanent Staff

Overview

Political Studies Department, University of Cape Town
5th Floor, Robert Leslie Social Science Building, Upper Campus

 

  Research interests Courses taught/convened

Assoc Prof John Akokpari
Associate Professor

Head of Department

Convenor: International Relations postgraduate programme

Rm 5.34, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-3385
john.akokpari@uct.ac.za

African politics; international relations; political economy; comparative politics

POL1005S (with L Lushaba)
Introduction to Politics B

POL3044S
Foreign Policy Analysis

POL5043S
Regionalism in Africa

 

Prof Robert Cameron
Professor

Rm 5.24, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-3380
robert.cameron@uct.ac.za

Comparative local government politics & administration; public sector reform; public administration thought

POL3038S
Urban Politics & Administration

POL4015S
Local Government

POL5006F
Public Management

Prof Anthony Butler
Professor

Rm 5.22, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-3384
anthony.butler@uct.ac.za

Politics & public policy in South Africa, including political funding, theories of the state, policy uncertainty, party systems, the politics of HIV/AIDS policy, and black economic empowerment in SA POL5044S
South African Politics

Dr Zwelethu Jolobe
Senior Lecturer

General postgraduate convenor

Rm 5.26, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-3382
zwelethu.jolobe@uct.ac.za

Comparative politics; international relations; African politics; political violence; revolutions; contemporary South African politics; democratisation

 

POL1004F
Introduction to Politics

POL4012F
Comparative Politics

POL5001F
Comparative Politics
 

Dr Lwazi Lushaba
Lecturer

Rm 5.24.1, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-2050
lwazi.lushaba@uct.ac.za

Political philosophy; Subaltern Studies (decolonial thought, the politics of representation, and postcolonial theory); African politics; radical African/Black traditions of intellectual thought

POL4033F
African Politics

POL4050S
Contemporary Debates in African Politics
 

Dr Vinothan Naidoo
Senior Lecturer

Convenor: Public Policy & Administration postgraduate programme

Rm 5.23, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-3383
vinothan.naidoo@uct.ac.za

Public administration, with a special interest in comparative public administration and development management.

POL2042S
Comparative Public Institutions

POL4013S
Comparative Public Administration

POL5007S
Policy Evaluation & Implementation

Dr Lauren Paremoer
Lecturer

Rm 5.65, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-2051

lauren.paremoer@uct.ac.za

HIV/AIDS treatment politics; social rights and social citizenship; health inequalities and global justice;  Third Worldism & the Global South

POL3029F
Politics of Africa and the Global South

POL5045F
Third World Politics

Assoc Prof Thiven Reddy
Senior Lecturer

Convenor: Politics postgraduate programme

Rm 5.30, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-3388
thiven.reddy@uct.ac.za

Comparative politics; South African politics; regime transition and democratisation; political party systems and political parties; post colonial theory and identity politics

POL3039S (with H Scanlon)
Advanced South African Politics

POL4044S
Global Political Thought

Dr Helen Scanlon
Senior Lecturer

Convenor: Justice & Transformation postgraduate programme

Rm 5.27, R Leslie bldg

+27 21 650-5593
h.scanlon@uct.ac.za

Transitional justice in an African context; conflict resolution; peace-building; gender and conflict

POL3039S (with T Reddy)
Advanced South African Politics

POL4032F
Comparative Transitional Justice

POL5037S
Post-Conflict Justice in Africa

Prof Annette Seegers
Professor

Rm 5.29, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-3390
annette.seegers@uct.ac.za

International relations; civil military relations in Southern Africa; security among Southern African states; the role of the military in democratization

POL3030F
Conflict in World Politics

POL4007H
Honours Research/Project

POL5034S
Conflict in Africa

Dr Harry Stephan
Senior Lecturer

Rm 5.63, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-3474
hstephan@iafrica.com

International relations; international political economy; comparative governance; international law and organisation

POL2039F
The Politics of International Economic Relations (with T Isbell in 2017)

POL5032F
International Political Economy