Permanent Staff

Overview

Political Studies Department, University of Cape Town
5th Floor, Robert Leslie Social Science Building, Upper Campus

 

  Research interests Courses taught/convened

Assoc Prof John Akokpari
Associate Professor

Head of Department

Convenor: International Relations postgraduate programme

Rm 5.34, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-3385
john.akokpari@uct.ac.za

African politics; international relations; political economy; comparative politics

POL1005S (with L Lushaba)
Introduction to Politics B

POL3044S
Foreign Policy Analysis

POL5043S
Regionalism in Africa

 

Prof Robert Cameron
Professor

Rm 5.24, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-3380
robert.cameron@uct.ac.za

Comparative local government politics & administration; public sector reform; public administration thought

POL3038S
Urban Politics & Administration

POL4015S
Local Government

POL5006F
Public Management

Prof Anthony Butler
Professor

Rm 5.22, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-3384
anthony.butler@uct.ac.za

Politics & public policy in South Africa, including political funding, theories of the state, policy uncertainty, party systems, the politics of HIV/AIDS policy, and black economic empowerment in SA POL5044S
South African Politics

Dr Zwelethu Jolobe
Senior Lecturer

General postgraduate convenor

Rm 5.26, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-3382
zwelethu.jolobe@uct.ac.za

Comparative politics; international relations; African politics; political violence; revolutions; contemporary South African politics; democratisation

 

POL1004F
Introduction to Politics

POL4012F
Comparative Politics

POL5001F
Comparative Politics
 

Dr Lwazi Lushaba
Lecturer

Rm 5.24.1, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-2050
lwazi.lushaba@uct.ac.za

Political philosophy; Subaltern Studies (decolonial thought, the politics of representation, and postcolonial theory); African politics; radical African/Black traditions of intellectual thought

POL4050S
Contemporary Debates in African Politics
 

Dr Vinothan Naidoo
Senior Lecturer

Convenor: Public Policy & Administration postgraduate programme

Rm 5.23, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-3383
vinothan.naidoo@uct.ac.za

Public administration, with a special interest in comparative public administration and development management.

POL2042S
Comparative Public Institutions

POL4013S
Comparative Public Administration

POL5007S
Policy Evaluation & Implementation

Ms Alecia Ndlovu 

Lecturer 

Rm 5.26, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-4748
alecia.ndlovu@uct.ac.za

Political economy of development, politics and governance in Africa, comparative politics,  quantitative research methods.

POL2038F
Comparative Politics

POL2039F
The Politics of International Economic Relations

POL5035F
Data analysis in Political Science

POL5032F
International Political Economy

Assoc Prof Thiven Reddy
Senior Lecturer

Convenor: Politics postgraduate programme

Rm 5.30, R Leslie bldg
+27 21 650-3388
thiven.reddy@uct.ac.za

Comparative politics; South African politics; regime transition and democratisation; political party systems and political parties; post colonial theory and identity politics

POL3039S (with H Scanlon)
Advanced South African Politics

POL4044S
Global Political Thought

Dr Helen Scanlon
Senior Lecturer (On Sabbatical) 

Convenor: Justice & Transformation postgraduate programme

Rm 5.27, R Leslie bldg

+27 21 650-5593
h.scanlon@uct.ac.za

Transitional justice in an African context; conflict resolution; peace-building; gender and conflict

POL3039S (with T Reddy)
Advanced South African Politics

POL4032F
Comparative Transitional Justice

POL5037S
Post-Conflict Justice in Africa

Dr Elias Phaahla 

Lecturer 

Rm 5.23, R Leslie bldg

elias.phaahla@uct.ac.za

Research Interests

Comparing development and welfare paradigms of South Africa, Mauritius and Chile; emerging powers and the remaking of the global economic architecture.

POL2038F

Comparative Politics 

POL4012F/POL5001F

Comparative Politics 

Gregory Maxaulane

Lecturer 

Rm 5.66 R Leslie bldg

gregory.maxaulane@uct.ac.za

 

Social and Political theory

 Politics in South Africa and the Black Atlantic World 

POL1004F 

Introduction to Politics 

POL3029F 

Politics of Africa and Global South 

 

TOP