Home > Undergraduate > Undergraduate Overview

Undegraduate Overview

The Department offers a range of courses in International Relations, Comparative Politics, South African Politics, Political Theory, Political Economy, Public Policy and Public Administration.
Combinations of these courses can be taken towards our major in Politics and Governance.

Our courses can also be taken in the structured programme in Philosophy, Politics and Economics.

Courses (except first year courses) are also available as electives, subject to course prerequisites being met.  They are also available to Study Abroad students subject to Head of Department approval.

A number of new courses are being introduced from 2016-2018 and other courses are being phased out. Please check the current course lists for the year of registration before attempting to register for a course.


Information on how to apply can be obtained from the UCT web-site.

Undergraduate applications are administered by the Humanities Faculty Office:

Tel: (+27 21) 650-2690

International students should contact the International Academic Programmes Office (IAPO):

Tel: (+27 21) 650-2822 / 3740


The following major can be taken as part of the general BA / BSocSci programme:


  • Philosophy, Politics and Economics (PPE)

This is a joint programme offered by the Departments of Philosophy, Political Studies and Economics.

Convener: Dr G Fried (Philosophy)

Information on this programme can be found on the Philosophy homepage.


The faculty handbook entries provide basic information on Politics undergraduate majors and courses - including entrance pre-requisites, brief course descriptions and examination requirements.

For the Politics section from this year's handbook, see the link to the left.